Explore Salem Maritime National Historic Site: Historic Ports, Merchant Homes, and the Friendship Vessel
About
Please note programming and interior access to buildings is currently unavailable. The grounds of Derby Wharf are accessible.
This National Park preserves one of America’s most influential ports, historic buildings, wharves, and the vessel Friendship, showcasing the traders and sailors who brought the riches of the Far East to America. For the latest tour schedules and film times, visit the website or contact the Salem Visitor Center at (978) 740‑1650.
Derby House Tour
The 1762 Derby House was the first home of Elias Hasket and Elizabeth Crowninshield Derby. It is a beautiful example of a merchant’s Georgian home, furnished to reflect the Derbys’ 20‑year residence. Guided tours, led by National Park Rangers, are free, limited to 8 persons, and require reservations. Call (978) 740‑1650 or stop by the Salem Visitor Center at 2 New Liberty Street on the day of your visit to reserve. Tours begin at Waite and Peirce, 193 Derby Street.
Narbonne House Self‑Guided Tour
Built in 1675, this free self‑guided tour takes visitors through nearly 300 years of history as a home of successful businessmen and their families. The unfurnished house contains displays of nearly 150,000 archaeological artifacts excavated from the backyard.
U.S. Custom House, Public Stores, and Scale House Self‑Guided Tours
Visit the U.S. Custom House, Public Stores, and Scale House for free self‑guided tours and talks with National Park Rangers or volunteers. Built in 1819 to house the offices of the U.S. Customs Service, Salem collected millions of dollars in taxes on incoming cargo, providing vital financial support for the new United States government. The building also served as the workplace of the famous author Nathaniel Hawthorne. The Public Stores and Scale House exhibit global trade in Salem.
“Where Past is Present”
A 27‑minute film on the history of Essex County, featuring early settlement, maritime, and industrial history.
“Salem Witch Hunt: Examine the Evidence”
A 35‑minute documentary‑style film on the history of the Salem Witch Trials of 1692.
The visitor center is open Wednesday–Sunday, 10 am‑4 pm.




